MONO COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT
Public Health Officer Order:
Face Coverings For All While in Public

P.O. BOX 3329, MAMMOTH LAKES, CA 93546 PHONE (760) 924-1830 * FAX (760) 924-1831
EMAIL RJOHNSON@ALPINECOUNTY.CA.GOV

August 6, 2021

Please read this Order carefully. Violation of or failure to comply with this Order is a
crime punishable by fine of up to $1,000, imprisonment for up to 90 days, or both.
(California Health and Safety Code § 120295.) This Order supersedes and replaces all
previous Mono County Public Health Officer Orders regarding Face Coverings.

WHEREAS, a state of emergency has been declared by the State of California,
and a local emergency has been declared in Mono County in response to the virus COVID-
19 (Coronavirus); and

WHEREAS, on June 15, 2021, California fully reopened the economy, and the
State terminated the restrictions on businesses and activities in its Blueprint for a Safer
Economy. Epidemiologic evidence demonstrates that the rate of community transmission
of COVID-19 and positivity rates have all substantially increased since the June 15, 2021
reopening; and

WHEREAS, since the state reopening, increased interactions among members of
the public have resulted in an increased number of daily new COVID-19 cases in Mono
County; daily cases have more than quadrupled since June 15, 2021. In addition, as of July
24,2021, Mono County is reporting a 7-day daily average case rate of 15.3 cases per
100,000 people with a 7-day lag. Based upon Federal Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention (CDC) indicators and thresholds, this means that community transmission of
COVID-19 within Mono County is now considered Substantial, and highly likely to
increase during the coming days and weeks; and

WHEREAS, while a significant number of Mono County residents are fully
vaccinated (i.e., two weeks or more have passed after the receipt of a second dose in a 2-
dose series or 2 weeks or more after receipt of a single-dose vaccine) as of the date of this
Order in Mono County, COVID-19 remains a concern to public health and safety and
there are still a large number of individuals in the County who are not yet fully vaccinated,
including children under 12 years old, who are not currently eligible to be vaccinated.
Furthermore, variants of the virus that may spread more easily and/or cause more severe
illness, including the Delta variant, are present in Mono County, impacting local residents
and visitors, based on positive case reporting; and

WHEREAS, throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, in Mono County, as well as
throughout California and the nation, there have been insufficient quantities of critical
healthcare infrastructure, including hospital beds, ventilators and workers, capable of
adequately treating mass numbers of patients at a single time as the virus spread
unchecked; and



WHEREAS, in order to continue to protect the community from COVID-19, in
particular for those who are not fully vaccinated, this Order mainly aligns with the State
Public Health Officer Order, dated June 11, 2021, as well as the July 28, 2021, Guidance
on the Use of Face Coverings issued by the California Department of Public Health. The
primary intent of this Order is to help slow and improve the Substantial level of
community transmission here in Mono County, to align with recent State recommendations
and to help mitigate and reduce the impact on Mono County, and its critical healthcare
infrastructure; and

WHEREAS, throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, face coverings have been
recommended by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to decrease
COVID-19 transmission. Face coverings are believed to decrease shedding of COVID-19
by people who are infected. Many people with COVID-19 infection have mild or even no
symptoms. Such cases may unknowingly spread the virus to others and face coverings are
intended to decrease the chance of such transmission.

NOW, THEREFORE, effective beginning August 6, 2021, under the authority of
California Health and Safety Code sections 101040, 101085 and 120175 and Title 17
California Code of Regulations, Section 2501, the Mono County Acting Health Officer
HEREBY ORDERS as follows:

1. All persons within Mono County and the Town of Mammoth Lakes, regardless of
vaccination status, shall wear face coverings' while in indoor public settings,
venues, gatherings, and businesses (examples include offices, retail, restaurants,
theaters, family entertainment centers and meetings, among others).

2. Individuals, businesses, venue operators, or hosts of public indoor settings must
require all patrons to wear masks, for all indoor settings, regardless of their
vaccination status, and post clearly visible and easy to read signage at all entry
points to communicate the masking requirements for patrons.

3. Recommendation: It is recommended that all persons wear face coverings while
attending large outdoor public events.

4. The following individuals are exempt from wearing masks:

a. Persons younger than two years old. Very young children must not wear a
mask because of the risk of suffocation.

! The following list, informed by the California Department of Public Health
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/COVID-19/Get-the-Most-out-of-Masking.aspx
and the Center for Disease Control https://www.cdc.gov/quarantine/masks/mask-travel-guidance.html| are
attributes of face coverings, or masks, needed to fulfill the requirements of this Order:

- Aproperly worn mask that completely covers the nose and mouth.

- Cloth masks should be made with two or more layers of a breathable fabric that is tightly woven (i.e.,

fabrics that do not let light pass through when held up to a light source).

- Mask should be secured to the head with ties, ear loops, or elastic bands that go behind the head.

- Mask should fit snugly but comfortably against the side and bottom of the face.

- Mask should be a solid piece of material without slits, exhalation valves, or punctures.




b. Persons with a medical condition, mental health condition, or disability that
prevents wearing a mask. This includes persons with a medical condition
for whom wearing a mask could obstruct breathing or who are unconscious,
incapacitated, or otherwise unable to remove a mask without assistance.

c. Persons who are hearing impaired, or communicating with a person who is
hearing impaired, where the ability to see the mouth is essential for
communication.

d. Persons for whom wearing a mask would create a risk to the person related
to their work, as determined by local, state, or federal regulators or
workplace safety guidelines.

This Order shall take effect beginning on Friday, August 6, 2021and will remain in effect
until rescinded, in writing, by the Mono County Health Officer based on three consecutive
weeks of adjusted case of below 6.9 per 100,000.

General Provisions

1. This Order is issued as a result of the worldwide pandemic of COVID-19 disease,
also known as “novel coronavirus,” which has infected at least 197 million individuals
worldwide in 220 countries and is implicated in over 4.2 million worldwide deaths,
including 1065 cases and five deaths in Mono County.

2. This Order is issued based on evidence of increasing transmission of COVID-19
both within the County of Mono and worldwide, scientific evidence regarding the most
effective approach to slow transmission of communicable diseases generally and COVID-
19 specifically, as well as best practices as currently known and available to protect the
public from the risk of spread of or exposure to COVID-19.

3. This Order is intended to reduce the likelihood of exposure to COVID-19, thereby
slowing the spread of COVID-19 in Mono County as well as, on a larger scale, to
communities worldwide. As the presence of individuals increases, the difficulty and
magnitude of tracing individuals who may have been exposed to a case rises exponentially.

4. This Order is issued in accordance with, and incorporates by reference, the: March
4, 2020 Proclamation of a State Emergency issued by Governor Gavin Newsom; the
March 15, 2020 Declaration of Local Health Emergency based on an imminent and
proximate threat to public health from the introduction of novel COVID-19 in Mono
County; the March 17, 2020 Resolution of the Board of Supervisors of the County of
Mono proclaiming the existence of a Local Emergency in the County of Mono regarding
COVID-19 and ratifying and extending the Declaration of Local Health Emergency due to
COVID-19; all current applicable guidance issued by the California Department of Public
Health, including but not limited to the June 11, 2021 California Public Health Officer
Order and the July 28, 2021 California Department of Public Health Guidance for the Use
of Face Coverings, and the Center for Disease Control recommendations on masking
protocol.

5. This Order is made in accordance with all applicable State and Federal laws,



including but not limited to: Health and Safety Code sections 101030, et seq.; Health and
Safety Code sections 120100, et seq.; and Title 17 of the California Code of Regulations
section 2501.

6. To the extent necessary, pursuant to Government Code sections 26602 and 41601 and
Health and Safety Code section 101029, the Health Officer requests that the Sheriff and all
Chiefs of Police in the County ensure compliance with and enforcement of this Order.

7. This Order is made because of the propensity of the virus to spread person-to-person.
8. Copies of this Order shall promptly be posted on the County of Mono’s Public Health

Department’s website (monohealth.com) and provided to any member of the public requesting
a copy of this Order.

Date: August 2, 2021

Richard Johnson, MD
Acting Local Health Officer
For Mono County and the Town of Mammoth Lakes



